Farewell to the BDO Darts and Sherlock for the Year, there is always next year.

Farewell to the BDO Darts and Sherlock for the Year, there is always next year.

Hey Everyone!

Welcome to my ninth blog. I hope you enjoy visiting my blog and have anything to share would be nice to contribute.

a picture of a business man

If you don’t know already my certificate arrived from passing the Business and Administration which I started in June I believe and it took me four months to complete. It took a bit of time for the certificate to come through but it got through in the end. I was overjoyed I felt like Pauline from Doc Martin who got a qualification for getting trained how to take blood from patients, don’t know what the official term for that is. It is a really a great thing to have because they a very rare to come across these opportunities where if you haven’t experienced the workplace before can give you an idea of what its like to work in a workplace. I thought about doing Administration if I had no luck finding the suitable opportunity in IT. In fact I went to see a recruitment agency earlier last week because I applied on a job website, they were somewhat helpful although I didn’t expect myself to sit some tests while I was there, I had to sit two assessment tests, the first one was to test my typing skills so all that was just typing in persons records and the second one was a multiple choice test likes one of those you do in John Lewis assessment where you choose some options that describe how you approach work if you fit into their values and they give you some scenarios where you just pick the one which is correct. Although I thought Customer Service wasn’t my strong point I managed to achieve over 70% in the test so I surprised myself really although despite that I haven’t heard from them yet since we last met. But going back to the qualification thing realistically it would only recommend it if you haven’t worked before or entered the workplace, unless you have experience in the workplace I wouldn’t recommend it. If you are still interested in the course then just contact me for more information.

Throughout my previous blogs I revealed my excitement for the upcoming BDO Darts Championship in Lakeside. As it was 8 days in the year it would be very rare to be able to watch live darts again this year as I believe the BDO isn’t televised again till the next tournament in 2015. But on that note I want to reflect on what I enjoyed the most about the tournament, you might want to skip the next paragraph if you are not interested in Darts.

But the tournament has been really terrific and I haven’t missed a match on the orcky at Lakeside. It was good for the game and good for the spectators that regional qualifiers from likes of Japan, New Zealand, the US, Canada from outside of Europe. At the start of the tourmanent I predicted that Martin Adams from England and Wesley Harms would face off in the final. How wrong was I? Well Completely wrong which goes to show that if I made a bet on in Paddy Power I would lose my money which is one of the reasons why I don’t gamble. What I love about Darts is that it is so unpredictable for example if you heard about the Japanese bloke I think he only missed two or three doubles in the whole match which is really unheard of in the sport of darts, there were a load of “Onnnnnnnne Hunnndreeed and eeeighhhty’s scored which is like the equivalent of a batsman scoring a six. It is great for the darts players to have that TV exposure and for me to enjoy them playing. It is a jolly man’s game really although it is great to see women to be playing as well. I’ve only watched the tournament for the last two years and LOVE IT!! There were so many good matches on show such as Kist vs Shimizu, Dekker vs De Vos, Adams vs O’Shea, Bunting vs Hofstra or I might as well say all of them because it will go on forever but their was one match other than the final that I would put up there would be the thriller between Wilson and Norris, those two really played their heart out on the stage which is something you want to see as a spectator when it goes all the way to the end. But the final was what I wanted to expect because last year’s final looked like that only one person showed up to the final but this year was different because any of the two Bunton or Norris looked like winning but I thought before the match that Bunton was going to win from the feedback I got and it was great to hear the analysis from the Pros Pro of Darts Bobby George.

bunting and norris darts players

Enough about discussing Darts, I’m not going to talk about Darts until the end of 2014 which is around 345 days from here. I believe the Snooker is back on BBC which is great to see because there are only three televised snooker tournaments on the BBC, the other ones are the World Championship and the UK Championship. I haven’t had time to think about watching yet but thanks to BBC iPlayer I shall be catching up with the Masters very soon but initially they are all tough draws to be honest, when you have the Masters you have the best 16 players on the snooker circuit so it could go either way really. It is probably rated as the second most ranked tournament to win for any snooker player because having the Masters title would give them bragging rights to say that I am the man among the top sixteen snooker players and give himself confidence going into the next few tournaments.

I was very surprised to learn a few months ago that Jessie J and Danny from The Script would leave The Voice along with the presenters Holly Willoughby and Reggie Yates leaving also. When I watched the first episode of Series 3 for the first time it was surreal without Danny and Jessie or I felt there presence were missed because they have been there since the start with Will and Tom. Having found out the lead singer of the Kaiser Chiefs (not to get confused with the football team) and Kylie Minogue was move to strengthen the show and provide immediate replacements so I thought the replacements were good I guess. I actually thought it was suprising that it was a bit early to start the new series, I thought they would have been building up the new series because I didn’t know much about it to be honest.

the voice uk judges 2014

For those that don’t know me already I am also a fan of Crime Dramas and Murder Mystery programs such as Sherlock and Midsomer Murders. For those that are reading this who like this genre will probably understand me better. I will first talk about Midsomer Murders and then move onto Sherlock so if you are not interested then skip these two paragraphs.

For those wondering how I got interested in Crime Dramas and Murder Mystery, I’ll tell you how I got influenced or interested in this area. I don’t really remember how I got interested in Midsomer Murders but once I got to watch them it became very interesting, although I don’t think it is realistic that you would find many murders in a sort of rural village in Buckinghamshire or how the deaths can actually be done in that way. I know that the episodes are derived from the books from Caroline Graham. What is interesting that every time I watch it, it is always related to an individual main theme with the aspect focused on a variety range of people in the village, it isn’t just about the main storyline that you get to watch but you get to hear and understand the characters perspectives only because it is only there 15 minutes of fame sort of speak or in other words the character only appears in one episode so you are more than likely to not revisit the character again. That is what makes the show different, as it has produced over 94 episodes I am amazed at how many characters they have produced that are only used in one episode so it must be over 500 short lived characters to revisit in some other episode, apart from DCI Barnably, his wife, his Sergeant and the Doctor who works in the Criminal lab the rest of them are expected. Since its exception I have watched near enough every episode of Midsomer Murders which is saying a lot really that has been going since 1997. I had slight doubts over Neil Dudgeon immediately taking over John Nettles as main character cause John had been in the show since the beginning of the show and taken the role brilliantly but he has done a good job of fitting into the role and you need time to fit in, I compare it to Matt Smith taking over from David Tennant in Doctor Who because I enjoyed watching David play the Doctor on screen or a David Moyes succeeding Sir Alex so that is something I relate to. Also Midsomer Murders is always quite unpredictable cause there are loads of twists and turns that go on and as you move into the story you get to understand it more although I do find it difficult to remember people’s names when they are murdered or there body was found. When I watched the last episode from Wednesday Night it had a medieval theme where in the beginning of the episode a vicar discovered some sort of tomb flooded in the parish, I won’t give too much away but has twists and turns in the episode. If you want to discuss the episode or can’t find anyone that likes this tv show then by all means share your views in this blog. My favorite episodes has to be the first two episodes, Dead Man’s Eleven and Judgement Day.

baranbys and sergeant jones

The next thing I will talk about it is my love of Sherlock Holmes, many wish he would be a real life person apperently, which just goes to show how important he has been coming from literature. In fact the character of Sherlock derives from a real life doctor. How many people know that? If your a Sherlock Holmes fan or belong to his society then you would know that it was all down to Dr Joseph Bell who was a lecturer at Edinburgh University in the medical profession. If you want to know more about him I’m sure you would find a documentary somewhere on YouTube about the origins of Sherlock Holmes stories, I also know how the name Moriarty came about. My love of Sherlock Holmes came about during the afternoon during the week where I looked at the TV Guide and watched a black and white film on BBC2 starring Basil Rathbone and that was where it first began. I noticed some other ones were on either two on the day or one each day during the Easter period. It isn’t televised anymore on BBC2 but I loved those old Sherlock films so much that I got all the old films that were produced at the end of the 1930s to the 40s on disc, their was around 14 films put together which is an awful lot of films and they are still work to this day, I only discovered recently that some of them are done in colour which would be unheard off during that decade. As you might expect I think that volume of films was because they were getting good numbers going to the cinema during the Second World War just so that they have a feeling of wanting to go out or relief the stress from sirens going off but don’t take my word for it.

Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson

Just to clear up that I didn’t talk about the England Cricket Team because most of them are useless anyway and don’t seem to know how to bat anymore. I don’t have anything to add on the subject.

Leave a Reply

