Presently.

Presently.

Hey everyone. Pleased to hear that hellaturnup is starting an internship next week. Talking about jobs.

Some good news …………………………………….

I’ve started my first paid role about the start of last week, the day after Easter bank holiday. It’s splendid that I am getting paid for once. I’m not trying to talk negatively but to be realistic it is going to last till August and then I will be on the unemployment line again.

The work I am doing is just a full term job of what I’ve done in volunteering in the short-term if that makes sense. But I there are some good points to take from this experience which will help my job prospects.

  1. Since I am working on most of the weekdays. I can observe the people who come and go. Although I felt embarrassed yesterday. Funny story. I answered the door, two people came in dressed up. I told the senior manager “there are two people here to see you”. I didn’t realise who they were at the time but I later found out that they were more senior than those working in the office. So I did feel guilty of not recognising higher authority. It would be like if I was working for HP or Directline and not recognising the managers of different departments.
  2. Since I’m a paid employee. I get to work alone in the office. Some of the time, especially last week. I took messages for the staff when they were out which was good because I want to be felt that I am trusted to keep the reputation of the organisation.
  3. I am currently doing an informal course in Microsoft Excel, since I am working on an Excel spreadsheet, I can take a few things that I have learnt and apply it to my work.

Moving on, since I’m getting paid (even though it is on a minimum wage), I’m spending some money on music to keep me motivated. I brought around five albums from Amazon and three from iTunes ranging from Pop, Rock, and Instrumental music. One of the notable albums I brought was That’s What I Call Music 90. The main reason I brought the album was because I listen to most of the songs on YouTube. Having played them many times, I said to myself “Why not buy it”. To be honest, I would forget to listen to the songs or not have those songs in mind. To be honest, I haven’t brought a That’s What I Call Music album in a long time, mainly because all the album wasn’t as strong or enjoyable to listen to overall and I brought some of the songs beforehand from artists individual albums.

album cover

But just seeing the songs on the album like Uptown Funk which will be one single that will be most remembered in the end of 2015, I could name most of the tracks on this blog but that would take too long. So really I couldn’t resist buying the album. After listening to all the tracks, the album is the best purchase I have made so far and I don’t think that particular album will come again anytime soon.

I also brought Now That’s What I Call Music 2002 and 2003 albums. I wrote a blog discussing my favourite eras when it was a good time to be listening to great music.. Around the early 2000s which was when I enjoyed great music. I listened to the 2002 album and it brought back a load of memories. I do admit that some of the songs on that album I brought previously, most of the tracks I gathered from file sharing website a few years ago but I have lost interest in doing that. I listened to the album yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed listening to every one, it didn’t appear to have one weak song which was a basic element or foundation of purchasing an album.

Till Next Time!

Joe

One thought on “Presently.

Leave a Reply

