Open Letter to Right On Your Money

Open Letter to Right On Your Money

Dear Right On The Money,

Having seen your first programme, I was quite astonished that a person could spend £800 on books for six months???? That did shock me and I thought the number was ridiculous.

I don’t have any debt myself. Like myself, load of people are interested in books but I would like to give some tips or things to think about in terms of saving money and being realistic with money.

I would consider myself an impulse and non-impulse buyer. I brought a large book over six months ago and carried it home with me because I felt I needed it but yet it is still unopened.

Important word I like to use is INVESTMENT. When I buy something I consider it to last and get great use out of it. The thing is, although I have brought more books than ever before, I control my spending habits, I know what I would like to buy but I try to be disciplined. That is what I think everyone needs to do.

For example

I went into Waterstones yesterday, I looked into the sports section, there were two books I wanted to buy, and they were called:

Wisden book of test cricket 2000 – 2009, it was priced at £45

The Classic Guide to Cricket by W G Grace, it was priced at £9.99

But I said to myself, do I really need to buy these now? I felt tempted, I briefly read the first few pages, I had the opportunity to buy them because I had my wallet with me but I didn’t see the point of spending it there and then because I knew I wasn’t in my priority list. Although it wasn’t in my priority list, I keep a list of books I want to buy and store them on my iPhone; there is a list of 21 books that I would like to buy.

What would happen if I had brought those twenty-one or how many books that I kept a list of on impulse? What would it prove of buying books found in Waterstones and WH Smith, I’m not expert but it questions my belief in money, I want to save my money back for when I actually need it and maybe revisit the things I want to buy at the later date and say to myself, Do I Need This?

The best advice I would give for book buyers is look out for the saying, “Good things comes to those who wait”. Ok maybe that isn’t true but it worked out for me. I volunteer at a bookshop and I just want to give you some examples

Ryan Giggs Man for All Seasons,

Price on Amazon: £9.94, in the bookshop I paid £3.99

My Manchester United Years: Bobby Charlton

Price on Amazon: £20.00, in the bookshop I paid £3.99

Six Wives of Henry VIII by David Starkey

Price on Amazon: £11.24, in the bookshop I paid £3.99

If I brought all those on Amazon, I would have paid around £41.18 plus delivery costs if they’re any.

I found all these books in the same bookshop, if you know your maths, 3 books multiply by 4 equals 12. I’m not a professor, but I use common sense, from that, I saved £29.18.

It may not seem a lot but we never stop buying books or in other words we don’t just settle for what we have.

So in summary, my tips are:

  1. Think before you buy, Do I Really Need This Book? Take a few minutes to gather your thoughts.
  1. Browse the book. If you are genuinely interested, write it down if you have a piece of paper or write it down on a smartphone.
  1. Once you have written the book and remembered the title and author of the book. Find the book on Amazon, look at the reviews, and go back into the shop where you first found the book. Then you would have a relaxed or conscious state of mind. If you decide you want to buy the book from home or can’t be asked to go back in the bookshop, I recommend looking on eBay or buying a used copy of the book. If you aren’t tempted, that’s great, you fought the temptation. That is what I say to those who need advice on money.

Hope this helps

Joe Phillips

One thought on “Open Letter to Right On Your Money

Leave a Reply

