Music originals/covers part 2

Music originals/covers part 2

I had an excellent time visiting the Science Museum, I had a lot of fun and a great time looking at the Information Age exhibition that was on display. I learnt something new that the computer mouse was originally wooden and I seen the neXT computer which Tim Berners Lee used to write the code for the World Wide Web web browser. I could do a blog about the Information Age in the near future and go into better detail about it but there may be luddites reading this blog and feel concerned already.

Thank you to those viewers who read part 1 of my blog series. CHEERS 🙂

I’m so excited to be doing part 2, talking and reviewing originals and cover versions of songs. I like discussing music because it is a general subject that targets various genres out there.

In this discussion, I’m going to be running down a few original and cover songs which I made up myself and choosing which version of the song I prefer. Some of the songs I put on here are not embedded so feel free to look round YouTube.

Picture of cover vs original

If you want to add song titles that I haven’t mentioned then that’s great because if I name every song title, the blog would be boring to read like this one.

Kiss Me – Sixpence None The Richer/New Found Glory

My Pick: Sixpence None The Richer

P.S spoiler Hayley Williams from Paramore appears in the video of New Found Glory’s version.

Talking about Hayley Williams, that leads to my second choice.

Use Somebody – Kings of Leon/Paramore

My Pick: I have to go with Paramore’s version , Hayley’s voice was phenomenal as I hope you would agree as well.

What Would You Do – City High/Bastille

My Pick: City High .That song for me is the main song I listen to of Hip Hop because it is about LIFE (I don’t mean the film title with Eddie Murphy) and its being truthful and honest.

Mama Told Me Not To Come – Three Dog Night/Stereophonics and Tom Jones

My Pick:  Stereophonics and Tom Jones

Fast Car – Tracy Chapman/Boyce Avenue feat Kina Grannis

My Pick: TIE!!!

Uptown Girl – Billy Joel/Westlife

My Pick: Westlife

Tragedy – Bee Gees/Steps

My Pick: Easy choice for me and for everyone. I would have to go with the Bee Gees . The Bee Gees original gives me goosebumps. The whole guitar playing combined with Barry Gibb’s voice just makes the song special.

The Long and Winding Road – The Beatles/Will Young and Gareth Gates

My Pick: As I only heard the original once and listened to the modern cover many times, I’m going to be biased and say Will Young and Gareth Gates . NO disrespect to The Beatles.

Too Close – Next/Blue

My Pick: Blue were on a roll during the early 2000s and that song was very memorable to me growing up whereas the original by Next doesn’t stick out.

Freak Like Me – Adina Howard/Sugababes

My Pick: Sugababes . I’ve heard the original by Adina Howard only once so it’s not that fair really. But since Sugababes released it, they made the song their own so I don’t compare it so much. The Sugababes track is good to listen to during Halloween tho.

Eternal Flame – The Bangles/Atomic Kitten

My Pick: I have to go with Atomic Kitten , every time I hear the words of the cover, I can remember the lyrics perfectly. I did a game on Facebook called Lyroke and got a perfect score on that particular song. I grew up listening to Atomic Kitten and it was nice revisiting them on The Big Reunion recently.

Truly Madly Deeply – Savage Garden/Cascada

My Pick: I prefer the original from Savage Garden . Cascada’s cover is more of dance remix in a strange music video.

Stuck In The Middle With You – Stealer’s Wheels/Louise

My Pick: Stealer’s Wheels

Run – Snow Patrol/Leona Lewis

My Pick: Leona Lewis . When I heard her version, I didn’t make much of it at first but the song grew on me when I brought her debut Spirit (on deluxe) and listened to the album.

Free Fallin’ – Tom Petty/Max Milner

My Pick: TUFFIE, I’m blown away by both versions. I’m going with Tom Petty’s original tho.

All Or Nothing – O-Town/Westlife

My Pick: I prefer O-Town’s version, It’s such a lovely ballladly poppy song to listen to, I would turn on the music station and wouldn’t be ashamed to listen to it all the way through the track. Sadly that was only one of two big hits O-Town had.

So that’s my list. If you found my list very random,

LIKE MY BLOG.

If I left out any major original songs and covers I do apologise, feel free to comment below. (There is probably a dozen of them).

My next blog will be about EDM music and you get my future blogs straight to your mailbox by subscribing on my home page at:

realjoephill25.wordpress.com

One thought on “Music originals/covers part 2

Leave a Reply

