Movin on from 2015

Movin on from 2015

Hey folks!

Hope you had a great New Year.

This is my first blog of 2016, hope you guys enjoy it.

Reflecting on 2015, it is safe to say that I have had a mixed year. While listening to ‘Man On A Wire’ by The Script, that probably sums up my life. “I am counting on high hopes……”

I am making strides to securing a job BUT it isn’t getting much easier with each day falling.

Ok so, I really can’t actually remember what I was doing back in January 2015. Two months before that in November, I was in Cheltenham for the first time and fell in love with the idea of my own adventures so one of my ambitions was to explore new places. I feel proud that I have actually fulfilled that to a certain degree. In July this year, I went for a job interview  in Didcot in Oxfordshire. (Crazy idea), I later noted that I wasn’t suitable for the job. After the interview, I had a spree around Oxford, to me Oxford didn’t stand out for me, there wasn’t any worthy places to go and visit. I did go into Christ Church (which was open to the public), I paid around £15 but it wasn’t worth the money in the end, they were doing up the dining hall so I couldn’t go in there, there was a picture gallery but you had to pay another £4 or so just to access that as well which to me seems ridiculous. The only place I got to visit in Christ Church was the cathedral but as I went in the summer months, I got some bright pictures, the whole area is really nice (as you can see from the photos below).

Back in March, I went for a job interview for an internship at Hampton Court, (by that time I narrowly missed out on the recruitment day for Historic Royal Palaces just over an month earlier). At that time I really wanted to work for Historic Royal Palaces if it meant taking two hours travelling each way which didn’t bother me because I don’t mind life being an hectic schedule. But I had such a great time there because it was the first time since I was a little toddler that I had been back there, I loved the place and I am fascinated by the history of the Palace, the Tudor and Hanoverian dynasty.

apartments of william and mary
William and Mary’s apartments

My highlights this year in terms of job searching, is that my interviews were varied with different sizes and locations around London. I had interviews in places such as Canary Wharf, Hampstead, Angel, Borough, Charing Cross, Harrow-on-the-Hill and Greenwich. Apart from Harrow-on-the-Hill, most of the interviews were based in London so I should advise to apply for jobs inside London because that is where most of the jobs are based. Unfortunately, interviews have never been my strong point which is an area I need to work on.

I am currently in the process of this month to be taking on volunteering six days a week. I know that must sound crazy but I feel I am making the right decision in that respect. So where will I be volunteering?

So there mostly around London (apart from Harrow) around Kings Cross, Farringdon, Holborn and Greenwich.  Of course there are downsides and limitations with this approach.

I won’t be claiming benefits such as Jobseeker’s Allowance but I’m not deterred by that, I had been signed up with them for more than a year and I didn’t feel it benefited me in the process of getting a job. I learnt from my experience at an interview in Barnados that it wasn’t successful but there were a few things I took away such as volunteering in an organisation and wait for a vacancy to open up.

At a place I volunteer in near Farringdon, one person had been a volunteer for a year and half ago but now is working for one of the top organisations in that sector so the way forward for me is to volunteer at as many sizeable organisations as possible till a vacancy opens up that I would be good at. At two organisations, I receive newsletters that are specified to volunteers which is great because I can be informed about upcoming events and future projects. The whole point is that I should have thought about doing that months ago but hindsight is a wonderful thing.

At two of the places, it has been successful with internal vacancies already one the past month, I even had an interview just a few days ago so yeah. At one organisation particularly, I believe I have been the most influential volunteer of its lifetime but I don’t feel that it has gotten the full recognition it deserves so that to me feels frustrating. One organisation, I went for a Christmas lunch announced to everyone my contributions to their projects which I didn’t expect but it felt fantastic because it shows it values contribution from all across the board and at the end of the day it is a team effort and that it is the type of organisation that I want to slot into.

Moving away from employment aspects ………

In terms of music in 2015, although I haven’t been to any gigs, on YouTube and TV, there has been stands outs. For me the biggest one was BBC Radio 1’s big weekend in Norwich which I must have covered on earlier this year. There were bands and artists like Charli XCX, Rita Ora, Olly Murs, Circa Waves and Jess Glynne just the names on top of my head. One of the bands that had the most effect for me is Rudimental. There just produce phenomenal music and a huge following, but then I didn’t realise they were GOOD or who any of them were. I wasn’t too impressed with Glastonbury, although I did watch Rudimental (which I didn’t know when they were on) which must have been around 12 at night and I had the volume next to MAX and I also watched Kanye West on the Saturday night which was different but entertaining.

 

As some of you know I do watch EUROVISION (yes, I’m not ashamed about that). For the first time, I brought the Eurovision 2015 album and I’m delighted to have brought the album, there have been some songs that were dull but there were certain songs that stood out like A Million Voices, In The Name of Love, Unbroken, Goodbye to Yesterday and De La Capat. Thanks to Eurovision, I discovered Mans Zelmerlow and I brought released his album called Perfectly Damaged which is 5* and worth a listen.

If you don’t know already, I’m a fond lover of going to museums, historic houses, art galleries etc. These are all of the places I have been to this year so if you are like me, you should go visit these places if you are ever visiting London:

  • Keats House
  • Windsor Castle
  • National Maritime Museum
  • Old Royal Naval College
  • John Soane’s Museum
  • National Portrait Gallery
  • Science Museum
  • Hampton Court Palace
  • Museum of the Order of St John
  • Drapers Hall

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Things I’m looking forward to in 2016.

One of cousins is getting married so I’m very much looking forward to going to the wedding (I’m not big on wedding receptions tho), I have my own tastes on what a wedding reception would be like, I would try to cater it to different tastes but songs I would definitely choose would be Beautiful Rage (Alex Sonata Remix), Current Emotions by Rudimental feat MNek and Go Far by Rudimental feat Will Heard, If I lose myself (Dash Berlin remix) to get the party going.

I’m looking forward to continue to write blogs, I’ve been doing this now for my third straight year (it is amazing how time flies these days) and I’m always excited to write for you guys.

The last thing I want to write before I go away is that I can’t believe that HAPPY BIRTHDAY is the richest song of all time. Although thinking about it, it does make sense. But the debate of the richest songs should be discussed in an upcoming blog.

Leave a Reply

