Take A Chance

Take A Chance

Hey everyone.

Welcome to my usual blog entry.

I’ve had a busy start of the week so far.

As I mentioned last week, in case you missed it, I went to the London Museum Awards ceremony. Fond times.

If you haven’t seen my LinkedIn page yet, I think it is worth checking out. I’ve updated it a bit, if any employers are reading this and think “Oh I need that sort of person” then don’t hesitate to contact me because sometime soon someone will take a chance. I might as well put on a classic hit “Take A Chance On Me” by ABBA below if you change your mind.

Being unemployed is bothering me a bit, when I was at an interview in the Museum of London, it did bother me because I go for jobs that I don’t have 100% of the skills/experience that they are looking for. There isn’t much I can do about it. When I apply for jobs such as this, I don’t think twice when writing the application or sitting down in the interview. I don’t hold it as a regret, I’m just trying to get my foot in the door and challenge myself. But having said that, even though it is not the total fit am I supposed to ignore the opportunity? Absolutely not. What can I do tho if the right job doesn’t come along? If I take a job that will get me miserable like the one I wrote about last year, then the job will control me and I don’t want that. Let’s just see what happens ……….

I have been at the Order of St John for nearly a year which is surprising and unthinkable. Has it been a year already? I wouldn’t have thought that.

If I do continue to go unemployed then it will affect me positively and negatively. In a negative sense, I won’t be earning money, not earning money means I can’t impress any girls and I my conversations on social visits will be low-key. Having said that, I am keeping busy with various volunteer opportunities to improve the skills/experience I am lacking. I am going to be starting a project very soon which will enable to get project experience as well as organising two major events (I didn’t think I would be looking at a path of managing events). I am wanting to look at broadening my experience at English Heritage and IWM. Whatever happens, even if I get offered a five-day job, I will be looking at keeping my Saturday shift at V&A.

On a side note, I was watching the UFC 203 the past weekend. I was sad about Joanne Calderwood losing, although she is Scottish, I root for people who come from the British Isles just like I cheer on Andy Murray, I don’t see there being a problem of an English gentleman rooting for Scots? I have total respect for Mickey Gall. He has got me glued to his theme song “Hey Mickey” by Toni Basil. But he just dominated the fight against CM Punk, I wanted to watch the fight because Mickey was getting a lot of attention because I was watching the Looking for a Fight series on the UFC’s YouTube page. I follow the WWE so I could not watch Punk make his debut, I totally respect Punk for having the guts to pursue a different career path, if anyone was offered that opportunity, I doubt many would turn it down. Since I’ve been following UFC for a number of months now, I like, respect and admire Fabricio Werdum because he is heavyweight that has a great ground submission game, he conducts himself greatly both in and out of the octagon. I will be looking forward to his rematch against Stipie, should be a cracker. I didn’t respect Alastair Overeem that much at the end of the fight, he claimed Stipie tapped out at the end of the bout and there wasn’t any evidence to prove that, it caught me off guard and it was clear Overeem didn’t take the result well.

I will be looking forward to watching the main event of UFC 204 between Bisping and Hendo. Should be a great match, there is a massive story and history there. I seen the last UFC that Bisping won the title against Luke Rockhold. I was ecstatic on the night and proud of Bisping representing the Brits. At the same night, Hendo won against Victor Lombard with a vicious elbow. I hope Bisping does Britain proud on the night and wins, Bisping is a great ambassador for Britain in MMA and I am exceptionally proud because he reminds me of Andy Murray in the sense that he is carrying the sport on his own back. My prediction would be that Bisping won’t KO Hendo but I think he will stick to his strengths and will go five rounds just like he did against the Anderson Silva fight.

Got two interviews coming up later this week so I’m preparing for that.

Laters guys.

 

Leave a Reply

