My visit to the Hunterian Museum

My visit to the Hunterian Museum

Hey folks !!!!

In this blog, I am going to be talking about my visit to the Hunterian Museum in the West End of London.

img_0963

I initially went to the Museum as an informal date. More on that in my next post. Initially I liked the experience of going but I think my date stood me up lol. I shouldn’t laugh about it to be honest because it is a hurtful thing to do to lie to someone but I guess it is for the best because the person has no regard of my feelings and their mind is made up.

So anyway, back to the subject.

Before the visit, I hadn’t known what to expect or know anything about the Museum so I was prepared for anything.

Once I went in there, there was some interesting exhibits/objects. The first thing that drew me was looking at some animal body parts in clear jars, hmm. I was left speechless, I had no words to describe that.

The things that were of great interest was learning about gigantism because it is something I can sympathise or relate to. When I think about the word gigantism, there is one man who springs to mind which is the wrestler and actor Andre the Giant. Although Andre was around before my time, I followed his career through looking at videos and a documentary on YouTube. Andre for me was a gentle giant and an inspiration in life. What I respect about Andre is that he led life to the fullest, he was larger than life which meant the spotlight was on him both on and off the screen at the whole time. It is tough to deal with as well as various basic things like sitting on a chair, providing food and drink, buying shoes and clothes, sitting on an airplane as well as sitting down in a car. I would have liked to have met Andre and put my hand to his hand and compare the difference.

On show at the Museum was the skeleton of the “Irish Giant” called Charles Byrne. I thought it was a spectacle . The femur or the upper part of the leg reached my shoulders and I am about 6 ft 1.

On the top floor, there were some disturbing images of plastic surgery which I couldn’t look at, faces looked horrible. There are cases where people get there face eaten off, for instance, I don’t know how I found it but there was a case where a monkey ate off a human face, it’s SICK, look it up on Google. But the story I read about in the Museum was a face got ruined by a dynamite explosion. The less said the better. What I also found disturbing were graphic videos of operations on the TV screen shown at the Museum, I’m just glad that I didn’t choose to have a career path of a Doctor or Surgeon because I couldn’t watch the tv screen let alone someone’s leg or shoulder being opened up.

 

One particular object that I thought was unique was a copy of Issac Newton’s death mask. I didn’t expect that to be exhibited at the Museum.

I said to my date during the visit that there should have been a painting of a Napoleon Bonaparte in with the group of small people. There were two paintings of dwarfs, one Irish and one Italian. There was a painting as well of a small titled person from Poland,

A portrait of a Yak, Kangaroos  was so random. I like the idea of yaks for some reason, particularly when I was at university when the Himalayas was brought up. Meanwhile,  a painting of kangaroos was not what I was expecting particularly as kangaroos came from Australia so given that before the 20th century it would take almost forever to get to Australia by boat so the painting was unique and rare.

Overall, the whole experience of visiting the Museum was very enjoyable despite my date leaving me half-way through. It was exceptionally interesting and enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone interested in the medical profession.

Hope you found this blog informative. Let me know what you think below !!!

One thought on “My visit to the Hunterian Museum

Leave a Reply

