Taster at Lords

Taster at Lords

 

In this blog, I am going to be writing about my experience of watching a cricket match at Lord’s Cricket Ground.

I was excited that I got a ticket to go to Lord’s to watch a ODI game between England against Ireland, it felt like getting a golden ticket to Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory.

I gained a ticket from entering a successful ballot draw.

IMG_1001.jpg

I felt like there was no other cricket arena suitable apart from Lord’s as it is a nearby cricket venue. The match itself felt meaningful to me to go and watch because I have a story between those two teams, I am English myself so I was rooting for England in a lot of ways but on the other end of the dice there was Ireland, my mother comes from Ireland originally so I was half rooting for Ireland to do well.

I was seated at ground level directly where the Mound stand is, just by the cover area which is South west direction of the pitch.

When I first sat in my seat, I watched some of the England team train at the end I was at the ground, I recognised Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali and Liam Plunkett. I tried to look at where the coin toss was but I couldn’t see where they were as either they were too far away from me or where I was seating I couldn’t see them through the people on the field.

By the time England finished their batting, it was time for an innings break so in this time, I walked outside the grounds of Lord’s, I liked going through different parts of the ground, the only thing that was in my mindset was learning about the history about the game so I went to the Museum and I enjoyed my time and learning about the history of cricket.

By the time I came back from lunch, some of the people had taken my seat so I felt like I was forced to sit somewhere else. At this time, it did feel uncomfortable about where I was sitting as I was on my own and felt like I just had to take an empty seat so I did feel it was unfair.

I didn’t stay for the full match, I was there until about an hour before it finished because I knew England were going to beat Ireland at that point in time so there wasn’t a real reason why I would have stayed anyway.

The downsides of going to Lord’s which was that I underestimated the weather, it does sound obvious if it’s about the rain but haha it was about how warm it was. I didn’t put any suncream on beforehand because I was anticipating that it was going to be cold and chilly. By the end of it, my face went to bright red so I didn’t look great to go to work the next day.

Although I had a good view of the match, I didn’t feel as though I enjoyed it so much, I feel because there was people talking at either side, I didn’t enjoy the noise and the atmosphere.

Through the experience, at least I was glad to get the opportunity to go to Lords and sit through a match day. I’ve been there and done what I achieved to do.

Leave a Reply

